Showing posts from February, 2021

Present tense Lit mag

 Full details  Present Tense is a literary magazine of new writing. We publish poetry, flash fiction, short stories, and creative non-fiction with a strong sense of place. In our fractured times, we want to create a meaningful space for dialogue, to find the common ground, to listen and unearth, to join the dots between writing, reading, and dreaming. Our commitment to writers is simple: We will accept unsolicited submissions We will take care of your words We will pay you within 30 days of publication Present Tense will be published biannually in print. A selection of pieces will also appear online. Each issue of the magazine will offer at least 144 pages of ruminations and 16 sides of carefully curated advertising. Advertise from just £50. For a media kit please email:  

Flash 500 Novel Prize

  Full details  Welcome to our Novel Opening Chapter & Synopsis Competition! Have you started, or completed, a novel with strong, credible characters and a page turning plot? Have you honed the first chapter? Can you put together a compelling one page synopsis (max 750 words) of the balance of the story? Yes? Then why not enter our Novel Opening Chapter competition and have your work judged by Headline Publishing ? We welcome published, self-published and unpublished novelists. The only stipulation is that the  entry must be unpublished . We are looking for an opening chapter up to 3,000 words, plus a one page synopsis outlining the balance of the story to be submitted together in a single file. If your chapter is longer than 3,000 words, DO NOT SUBMIT A LONGER MANUSCRIPT. Simply close the entry within the 3,000 word limit and make a note at the end (which will not be included in the word count) stating the chapter continues beyond this point. This is an 

Reedsy Prompts

  Full details  Win $50 in our short story competition 🏆 We'll send you 5 prompts each week. Respond with your short story and you could win $50!  

Flypaper Lit

  Full details Flypaper is 100% committed to changing the culture in publishing and is especially interested in work from PoC, queer, women, neurodivergent, immigrant, disabled, and other underrepresented writers in the literary world. FPM also loves receiving submissions from writers with some relation to Ohio, though this is in no way a requirement to submit.  We refuse to publish any work that is racist, queerphobic, xenophobic, fascist, or hateful in any way. Additionally, we refuse to publish writers whose work may not espouse these views but who personally do. Note: We reserve the right to remove your work from our publication should Flypaper become aware of incidences of improper behavior, plagiarism, hate speech, patterns of abuse, or other stipulations not enumerated here. We reserve the right to do so without notice and the bar you from future submissions. Flypaper believes writers should be paid for their work and are able to pay $10/ piece, we wish it could b