Full Details rist: A Journal of the Literary Arts, seeks high quality submissions from both emerging and established writers. We publish craft essays and interviews as well as fiction, nonfiction, and poetry—and we want to see your best work, regardless of form, style, or subject matter.
Past issues have included such writers as Dan Albergotti, Dorothy Allison, Ellen Bass, Richard Bausch, Katherine Boo, Maud Casey, May-lee Chai, Peter Ho Davies, Timothy Donnelly, Denise Duhamel, Tom Franklin, Elizabeth Gilbert, Joy Harjo, Lyn Hejinian, Bob Hicok, T.R. Hummer, Adam Johnson, Fady Joudah, Dorianne Laux, Dorothea Lasky, Dana Levin, Julia B. Levine, Lisa Lewis, Thomas Lynch, Khaled Mattawa, Joseph Millar, Ander Monson, Danielle Pafunda, Ron Rash, Hilda Raz, Maggie Smith, Maura Stanton, Michael Steinberg, Virgil Suárez, Julie Marie Wade, William Wenthe, and many others.
We read between May 15th and August 15th. Please note that we do not accept snail mail submissions. Please …

Green Bottle Press

Full detailsThe submission window for publication in 2021 will be the month of April – submissions received after midnight on the 30th April will not be read.

Green Bottle Press is looking for work by poets who write in English and who have not yet published a pamphlet or full collection, though we occasionally consider new work by more established poets.
Please do not submit to Green Bottle Press if you have not already been published by several poetry journals. Think of those magazines as your first readers. We would like to know where some of your work has been seen as well as the poets and poetry publications you like reading. Do not tell us about all your other publishing triumphs involving flash fiction, memoir, novels, etc. unless it directly includes your poetry (for example, plays where your poetry is recited). Please write a short autobiography, no more than 100 words. Include your contact details: phone, address and email.
Please submit no more than 10 pages o…


Full details Granta is committed to championing new voices and is open to unsolicited submissions of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and art. We consider all submissions for both print and online publication.
When we moved from a paper system to an electronic one, the number of submissions to Granta increased beyond control. We introduced a fee of £3/$4, equivalent to printing and postage, for prose submissions only. This helps us to pay our readers and our writers, and to ensure that all submissions are well-considered. We do not charge for poetry or art and photography submissions.  You can claim the costs of submission to Granta against any new subscription to the magazine.
During every opening period, we offer 100 free submissions to authors on low incomes. If you are a low-income writer and would like to apply for free entry, please read our guidelines for low-income entry below.
Please follow the instructions on the site if you wish to submit. We look forward to reading…


Full details Published four times per year, Grain Magazine is an internationally acclaimed literary journal that publishes engaging, surprising, eclectic, and challenging writing and art by Canadian and international writers and artists. Before submitting your work to Grain, we recommend you read a recent issue of the magazine. The latest issue of Grain is available to order by clicking the current issue cover image on the right of this page. Please adhere to the following guidelines and do not submit more than twice in one submission period (third and subsequent submissions will neither be read nor returned). If you have work currently under consideration by Grain, please do not submit again until you have received a response to that submission. Grain has an eight-month submissions period which runs from September 15th to May 15th. Manuscripts received outside of this window will be automatically rejected. Types of Work We Consider Send typed, unpublished material only (we consider w…

The Gettysburg Review

Full details

Published quarterly, the Gettysburg Review considers unsolicited submissions of poetry, fiction, and essays, from September 1 through May 31 (postmark dates). New submissions received from June 1 through August 31 are returned unread. We welcome submissions of full-color graphics year round.
The main criterion for selection is quality, but the best way to determine what might be accepted by the Gettysburg Review is to read what has already been published. Sample copies of the most recent issue are available for $15 each print, $9.95 digital e-book; one-year subscriptions (4 issues) are $35 for print, $25 for digital. We strongly encourage all potential contributors to read several issues before submitting.
While we charge a small fee for online submissions, we do (and will always) accept snail-mail submissions, free of charge, excluding postage. To submit online, follow the link below:
Address all submissions to Mark Drew, Editor, The Gettysburg Review,Gettysbur…

The Georgai Review

Full details he Georgia Review accepts submissions both online and by post. We do not accept submissions via email. Submissions are free for those who mail them in and those who are current subscribers to The Georgia Review. Subscriptions and online submission fees ensure that we can maintain our pay rate for our writers.
We do not consider unsolicited manuscripts between May 15 and August 15. Submissions received during that period will be returned unread.
All manuscripts receive serious, careful attention; we respond within eight months, given our average workload.
Work previously published in any form will not be considered. Please let us know in your cover letter if your submission is simultaneously being considered elsewhere, and please let us know immediately if your work is accepted by another publication. Likewise, please notify us if any part of your submission is known to be included in a book already accepted by a publisher (including the anticipated date of book …


Full details Geist is a magazine of ideas and culture with a strong literary focus and a sense of humour. The Geist tone is intelligent, plain-talking, inclusive and offbeat. Each issue represents a convergence of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, photography, comics, reviews, little-known facts of interest, cartography and the legendary Geist crossword puzzle.
Before submitting work, read several issues of Geist, or dig deep into the archives at, to get a sense of the tone and nature of the work we publish. Some of our editorial biases derive from George Orwell’s essay “Politics and the English Language.”
Geist is always seeking short (800-1200 words) non-fiction, typically personal narrative, for the Notes & Dispatches section. Notes & Dispatches are brief and often humorous or lighthearted evocations of life (most often) set in the land north of America, written in plain language with strong verbs. They are usually first hand reports of apparently simple enco…