Aurora Prize for Writing 2024

 Full details 

The Aurora Prize is a national writing competition run by Writing East Midlands, in partnership with the Society of Authors.

Open for submissions from Wednesday 29th May until Wednesday 7th August at midnight

The Aurora Prize is a national writing competition, seeking outstanding new writing in short fiction and poetry.


Since 2016, Aurora has provided a platform for writers, offering a prize that is truly national (and international) with its heart in the East Midlands.


Our judges have included some of the region’s leading literary lights, with names such as Joanna Cannon, Casey Bailey, Mahsuda Snaith, Alison Moore, Jon McGregor, Malika Booker, Helen Mort, Debris Stevenson, Shreya Sen-Handley and Georgina Wilding.


We are delighted to announce that this year’s award-winning judges are best-selling crime novelist Vaseem Khan and esteemed poet and author Andrew McMillan.


As well as receiving a cash prize, winners receive feedback on a piece of work of their choice from a matched literary agent or editor.


We receive hundreds of entries each year, with the best 25 in each category making it to a published longlist and the best 10 in each category on published shortlists.


There are also prizes for second and third places in each category, plus prizes for the best work from the East Midlands region.

Aurora prize 2024

The Prizes

The winners, in each category, will receive a cash prize of £500, feedback on a piece of work of their choice from a leading literary agent (or Editor as appropriate) and a years free membership to the Society of Authors, which includes access to advice and resources on all aspects of the business of writing.


Winners will also receive a session with Society of Authors staff, including an introduction to how the Society can support them in their careers as professional authors and covering essential advice on copyright, payment terms and contracts.


Second Prize £150 cash.


Third Prize A ticket to the 2025 Writers’ Conference, hosted by Writing East Midlands.


As a champion of writers from the East Midlands, we will also offer a regional prize of £100 to the best work in each category from the region.


The submission fee is £9 for a first entry and £7 for each additional entry.


This is a national writing competition open to everyone. International entries are also welcome.


 For full Terms and Conditions click here.

Aurora prize 2024

The Judges

Vaseem Khan is the author of two award-winning crime series set in India, the Baby Ganesh Agency series set in modern Mumbai, and the Malabar House historical crime novels set in 1950s Bombay.


His first book, The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra, was selected by the Sunday Times as one of the 40 best crime novels published 2015-2020, and is translated into 17 languages.


The second in the series won the Shamus Award in the US. In 2021, Midnight at Malabar House won the Crime Writers Association Historical Dagger. 


Vaseem was born in England, but spent a decade working in India. In 2023, Vaseem was elected the first non-white Chair of the 70-year-old UK Crime Writers Association. 


Vaseem also co-hosts the popular crime fiction podcast, The Red Hot Chilli Writers.

Vaseem Khan, award-winning author and judge of the 2024 Aurora writing competition.

Andrew McMillan’s debut collection physical was the only ever poetry collection to win The Guardian First Book Award. The collection also won the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize, a Somerset Maugham Award (2016), an Eric Gregory Award (2016) and a Northern Writers’ award (2014). In 2019 it was voted one of the top 25 poetry books of the past 25 years by the Booksellers Association. 


His second collection, playtime,  was a Poetry Book Society Recommendation for Autumn 2018, a Poetry Book of the Month in The Observer and The Telegraph, a Poetry Book of the Year in The Sunday Times and won the inaugural Polari Prize.


His third collection, pandemonium, was published by Jonathan Cape in 2021.


He is Professor of Contemporary Writing at the Manchester Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University and is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. 

Andrew McMillan, award-winning poet and judge of the 2024 Aurora writing competition.



Popular posts from this blog


Dark Edge Press

Quirk Books