Betty Trask Award

 Full details 

Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic style.

Each year a single prize winner receives £10,000 and the remaining fund is split between a number of award winners. 


Entry to the 2023 Betty Trask Prize and Awards will open in August

  • Deadline for entries: 30 November 2022
  • The author must be under the age of 35 on the 31 December 2021.
  • The author must be resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland or the Commonwealth for three years prior to the date of submission for the award, or a British national, and writing in English.
  • The author must not have had any novel published (other than the one submitted).
  • The work submitted must be in the English language and the work of one author (not a translation).
  • The work submitted must be a novel of a romantic or traditional nature (i.e. not experimental).
  • If published or self-published, the work must have been published between 1 January 2021 and 30 November 2021.
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the Betty Trask Prize and Awards.

For any queries relating to the prize please contact



Popular posts from this blog

Dark Edge Press

Boyd's Mill and Kane

Reflex Press