Aurora Prize for Writing

 Full submissions 

Open for entries from Monday 4th April 2022 until Monday 13th June at midnight

The Aurora Prize for Writing is a national competition run by Writing East Midlands, in partnership with the Society of Authors.

The prize seeks outstanding new writing in short fiction and poetry.


Since 2016, the prize has created a platform for writers, so as well as receiving a cash prize, the winners receive feedback on a piece of work of their choice from a matched literary agent. And if they are not yet ready to talk to agents, they can choose, instead, to receive a full pass to The Writers’ Conference 2022.


This is a truly national (and international) prize, with its heart in the East Midlands, so there are also prizes for the best writing from the region, in both poetry and short fiction.


We publish shortlists (of 10) and longlists (of 25) showcasing the best pieces of poetry and short-fiction. 


The 2022 prize is NOW OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS until Monday June 13th 2022, at midnight.

Winners will be announced at a celebration ceremony in October 2021.

Aurora prize 2022

The Judges

Georgina Wilding is the former Nottingham Young Poet Laureate and 2019-2021’s Creative Director of Nottingham Poetry Festival.


She has performed both nationally and internationally at events such as the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and International Poetry Day Granada.


In 2019 she was awarded a place on the prestigious Krakow City of Literature residency programme, and was commended as one of the Nottingham 30 under 30 winners.


Georgina has been published by journals such as The Rialto and Kontent (KRK) and celebrates the launch of her debut collection Hag Stone, out with Verve Poetry Press in May this year. 


More information on her website, here.

Shreya Sen-Handley is the author of three books with HarperCollins: the award-winning Memoirs of My Body (2017), short story collection Strange (2019), and travelogue Handle with Care (2022). 


Her short stories and poetry have been published in anthologies like award-winning Five Leaves Publication These Seven (7 stories that helped Nottingham win its UNESCO City of Literature status in 2015), besides being broadcast, performed, and shortlisted for prizes in Britain, India and Australia.


Shreya writes operas for Welsh National Opera and her play ‘Quiet’ was staged at the Tara Theatre, London in July 2021.


She teaches creative writing at British and Indian institutions, including the University of Cambridge.


More information on her website, here.

Aurora prize 2022

The Prizes

The winners, in each category, will receive a cash prize of £500, feedback on a piece of work of their choice from a leading literary agent (or Editor as appropriate) and a years free membership to the Society of Authors, which includes access to advice and resources on all aspects of the business of writing.


Winners will also receive a session with Society of Authors staff, including an introduction to how the Society can support them in their careers as professional authors and covering essential advice on copyright, payment terms and contracts.


Second Prize £150 cash.


Third Prize A one-day course of your choice from Writing School East Midlands.


As a champion of writers from the East Midlands, we will also offer a regional prize of £100 to the best work in each category from the region.


The submission fee is £9 for a first entry and £7 for each additional entry.


This is a national prize open to everyone.


For full Terms and Conditions click here.



Popular posts from this blog

Dark Edge Press

Boyd's Mill and Kane

Reflex Press