RSL Giles St Aubyn Awards for Non-Fiction

 Full details 

In 2017, the RSL established these annual Awards for first-time writers of non-fiction through a generous bequest from author and RSL Fellow Giles St Aubyn. Giles St Aubyn, who died in 2015 aged 89, wrote 14 non-fiction books and taught history for nearly 40 years at Eton College. A nephew of Vita Sackville-West, he counted John Betjeman, John le Carré and The Queen Mother among his friends. Read the press release announcing the Awards.

The new awards build on the RSL Jerwood Awards. a previous form of non-fiction awards, generously supported by Jerwood Charitable Foundation from 2004 to 2016.

The 2021 Awards

We are now taking entries for the 2021 Awards. Three Awards one of £10,000, one of £5,000 and one of £2,500 will be presented to provide financial support for talented new writers to complete their first book of non-fiction, especially by buying them time for writing or research. Writers may submit themselves or their publishers or agents may submit on their behalf. The writer must be resident in the UK or Republic of Ireland. Full eligibility and guidelines can be found here.


This year’s judges are Gwen Adshead, Clive Myrie and Fiona St Aubyn.

The deadline is 5pm on Friday 17 September.

For questions about any of our awards and prizes, please contact Martha Stenhouse, General Manager,



Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Light and Life Magazine

Reflex Press