The Queen Mary Wasafiri New Writing Award

 Full details

The 2021 Queen Mary Wasafiri New Writing Prize is open for submissions until 31 May 2021 at 5pm BST. You can read the full Terms and Conditions and enter the prize here.  

Representing more of the globe than any other prize of its kind, the prize supports writers who have not published book-length works, with no limits on age, gender, nationality, or background. The winners of each category received a £1,000 cash prize and will be published by Wasafiri in print. Shortlisted writers will have their work published on the Wasafiri website. All fifteen shortlistees and winners will also be offered the Chapter and Verse or Free Reads mentoring scheme in partnership with The Literary Consultancy (dependent on eligibility), and a conversation with Nikesh Shukla of The Good Literary Agency to discuss their career progression.  

Every writer recognised by the prize, running since 2009, remains part of the Wasafiri community, and is supported by the magazine as their career grows. Past winners and shortlistees have gone on to score deals with major international publishing houses such as Verso, Peepal Tree Press, and HarperCollins India, and to be shortlisted for and win prizes including the TS Eliot Prize, Ambit Short Fiction, and Bocas Poetry Prize, among very many others. 

This year, the prize will be judged by renowned poet Tishani Doshi (Poet), prizewinning author Hirsh Sawhney (Fiction), bestselling novelist and memoirist Christie Watson (Life Writing), and accomplished writer and Professor of Creative Writing Andrew Cowan (Chair).



Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Light and Life Magazine

The Writing Magazine Grand Prize