Rose Mary Crayshaw Prize

 Full details  

History of the prize

In 1888 Rose Mary Crawshay endowed a ‘Byron, Shelley, Keats In Memoriam Yearly Prize Fund’, whose administration was later transferred to the British Academy. The prize was first awarded in 1916.


a) The prize is awarded each year for an historical or critical book by a woman, on any subject connected with literature.

b) Eligible nominations must be for books published within the last three years.

How to nominate

Nominations for the Rose Mary Crawshay Prize are currently open and may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy.

Entries should be submitted electronically to stating on the email subject ‘Nomination Rose Mary Crawshay Prize 2021’.

In the body of the email clearly state:

  • Name of nominee
  • Nominee’s position / institution and email address
  • Nominee’s work submitted for the prize
  • Supporting statement (250 words)
  • Nominator’s name and your British Academy section
  • Declaration of any institutional or personal interest

The deadline for submissions is 31 January 2021. Submissions received after this date will not be considered.

Nominations will be reviewed, and winner selected, by the Rose Mary Crawshay Prize panel:
Professor Lorna Hutson FBA (Chair)
Professor Diana Knight FBA
Professor Nigel Leask FBA
Professor Henry Woudhuysen FBA

If you have any queries submitting a nomination please email



Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Light and Life Magazine

Puchi Award Book Projects