Four Quartets

 Full details 

About the Prize

The Four Quartets Prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2020. Poems in the sequence may have been published in different journals provided that they were published in 2020 and that brought together, they form a complete sequence.

The Four Quartets Prize is first and foremost a celebration of the multi-part poem, which includes entire volumes composed of a unified sequence as well as novels in verse and book-length verse narratives.

Gwendolyn Brooks's sequence A Street in Bronzeville , published as a book in 1945 as well as her The Anniad, published in book form in 1950, are also examples of eligible sequences. 77 Dream Poems (1964) and His Toy, His Dream, His Rest (1968) by John Berryman are other examples.

Three finalists will receive $1,000 each. The winner will receive an additional $20,000.

The announcement of the short list will take place in Spring, 2021, followed shortly by the announcement of the winner.

Award Details

  • Fourteen pages of published poems unified by subject, form, and style is the minimum per submission.
  • The poems must have been published in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2020.
  • Entire books composed of a unified sequence however long are also welcome.
  • The unity of shorter sequences, which are enthusiastically welcomed, should be apparent but also articulated in a paragraph describing the aims of the sequence. Such a statement should accompany each submission, book-length or shorter.
  • If the poems in the sequence have been published separately in print or online journals or in a chapbook, please include four copies of the table of contents and the copyright page of each journal or chapbook attached to the poems published in that publication.
  • If the sequence is contained in a book, please send four copies of the sequence along with four copies of the table of contents' page and the copyright page.
  • Please be sure to order the poems in the sequence.
  • If the sequence constitutes an entire book, please send four copies of the book.
  • Self-published work is ineligible.
  • Only one submission per author will be considered.
  • Only work published in 2020 will be considered.
  • The Poetry Society of America will accept submissions from authors, publishers, and literary agents
  • The submission must be accompanied by an entry form.
  • There is no submission fee.


Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Light and Life Magazine

Quirk Books