The Sommerset Maughan Prize

Full details

W. Somerset Maugham set up a fund in 1947 to enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. The awards are given for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry.

2020 Winners

  • Alex Allison for The Art of the Body (Dialogue Books/Little, Brown)
  • Oliver Soden for Michael Tippet: The Biography (Weidenfeld and Nicholson/Orion)
  • Roseanne Watt for Moder Dy (Birlinn/Polygon)
  • Amrou Al-Kadhi for My Life as a Unicorn (4th Estate)

The 2021 Awards

Deadline for entries: 30 November 2020 at 5pm (GMT)

Important information on the 2021 prize.

  • Applicants must be a British national, or ordinarily resident in the UK
  • Applicants must be under the age of 30 on 30 November 2020
  • Submissions must have been first published in the UK in 2020
  • Submissions may be poetry, fiction, criticism, biography, history, philosophy, belles-lettres or a travel book. Dramatic works are not eligible
  • The prize money must be used for foreign travel


Popular posts from this blog

Dark Edge Press

Boyd's Mill and Kane

Reflex Press