The Queen's Knickers

Full details

his annual prize, generously funded by Nicholas Allan, author of The Queen's Knickers, is awarded to an outstanding children's original illustrated book for ages 0-7.
It will recognise books that strike a quirky, new note and grab the attention of a child, whether this be in the form of curiosity, amusement, horror or excitement.
The winner will receive £5,000, as well as a golden Queen's Knickers badge, as depicted in Nicholas Allan's original book.
The runner-up will receive £1,000 and a silvered badge. 

2020 Queen's Knickers Award Winner

Elena Arvelo Melville for Umbrella (Scallywag Press)

2020 Shortlist
  • Runner-up: Didier Lévy and Fred Benaglia for How to Light Your Dragon
    (Thames & Hudson)
  • Beth Waters for Child of St Kilda (Child's Play)
  • Sally Gardner and Nick Maland for Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon (Zephyr, Head of Zeus)
  • Kate Read for One Fox (Two Hoots)

The 2021 Prize

Deadline for entries: 30 November 2020 at 5pm (GMT)
Important Information:
  • Submissions should be a single, illustrated volume, in book form. It can be imaginative or factual e.g. a counting book
  • Submissions may be any combination or words and/or pictures, or just pictures (and in any physical format including, pop ups, flap books, and board books)
  • Submissions must have been first published in the UK and Republic of Ireland between 1 September 2019 and 31 August 2020
  • The prize will be shared between the author or authors and illustrator/illustrators if applicable
  • Submissions must be made by the print publisher
For any queries relating to the prize please contact


Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Earlyworks Short Story Comeptition

Light and Life Magazine