The McKitterick Prize

Full details

Tom McKitterick, the former editor of Political Quarterly and author of an unpublished novel, endowed the McKitterick Prize which was first awarded in 1990. It is given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished.

2020 McKitterick Prize winner

Claire Adam for Golden Child (Faber and Faber)

The 2020 Shortlist
  • Runner Up: Taffy Brodesser Akner for Fleishman is in Trouble (Wildfire, Headline)
  • Sara Collins for The Confessions of Frannie Langton (Viking, Penguin Random House)
  • Brian Bilston for Diary of a Somebody (Picador, Pan Macmillan)
  • Rónán Hession for Leonard and Hungry Paul (Bluemoose Books)
  • Regina Porter for The Travelers (Jonathan Cape, Vintage)

The 2021 Prize

Deadline for entries: 31 October 2020 at 5pm (GMT)
Important Information:
  • Applicants must be living and over the age of 40 on the 31 October 2020
  • Applicants must not have had any other novel published (excluding works for children)
  • Submissions must be a full length novel in the English language by one author
  • Submissions must be a work of 'fiction or imagination or substantially of fiction or imagination'
  • Submissions must either have been published in the UK between 1 Jan 2020 and 31 October 2020 (and not first published abroad) or unpublished
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the McKitterick Prize
For any queries relating to the prize please contact


Popular posts from this blog

Dark Edge Press

Boyd's Mill and Kane

Reflex Press