Betty Trask Award

Full details

Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic, but not experimental, style.

2020 Betty Trask Prize Winner
Kathryn Hind for Hitch (Hamish Hamilton)

Betty Trask Award Winners
  • Stacey Halls for The Familiars (Zaffre, Bonnier Books UK)
  • Isabella Hammad for The Parisian (Jonathan Cape, Vintage)
  • Okeychukwu Nzelu for The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney (Dialogue Books)

The 2021 Prize

Deadline for entries: 30 November 2020 at 5pm (GMT).
Important information for the 2021 prize. 
  • Applicants must be under the age of 35 on 31 December 2020
  • Applicants must be resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland of the Commonwealth for three years prior to the date of submission for the award, or a British National
  • Applicants must not have had any other novel published
  • Submissions must be in English and must not be a translation
  • Submissions must be of a romantic or traditional nature (i.e. not experimental)
  • Submissions must have been first published in 2020, or be unpublished
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the Betty Trask Prize and Awards
Charity number 289519


Popular posts from this blog

KT Literary

Earlyworks Short Story Comeptition

Perito Prize